Royal Museums of Fine Arts, Brussels

Rue de la Régence 3, 1000 Brussels, Belgium

"Royal Museums of Fine Arts" are a complex consisting of four museums located in different buildings. It includes the "Museum of Modern Art" and "The Museum of Ancient Art", which are in a building located near the "Royal Palace", as well as two museums in the commune of Ixelles on specific Belgian artists - "Museum Antoine Wirtz" and "Museum of Constantine . The museum was founded in 1835 by order of King Leopold I, and in 1887 appeared the current museum building on Palace Square, designed by architect Alphonse Balat. Total museum's collection includes about twenty thousand items - paintings, drawings, sculptures, created in the period from the fourteenth century to our time. Exposition "Museum of ancient art" represented by the works of European artists of the fourteenth - eighteenth centuries, and it is based on collection of Flemish paintings.. In "Museum of Contemporary Art" presents works by Belgian artists. It houses one of the largest public collections of works by Belgian surrealist painter Rene Magritte.. "Museum Antoine Wirtz" is a former artist's studio, to preserve the unique atmosphere of the universe Antoine Wirtz, the Belgian representative of the Romantic movement of the nineteenth century. It contains the number of works Wirtz, his drawings and sculptures.. "Constantin Meunier Museum" occupies the former home studio famous Belgian painter and sculptor, a representative of the realistic style of art, which became one of the first sculptors, take in their work central person involved in physical labor..

© Virtual journeys 2018