Dobra 54, 00-384 Warsaw, Poland
Warsaw University Library was founded in 1816. Throughout its history, it has undergone a lot of testing. The library was closed by the tsarist government, its funds were exported to Russia, then returned, suffered from a fire during World War II. The current library building was commissioned in late 1999. Seven months before the opening of the building consecrated by Pope John Paul II. The Library consists of the main building and four- low frontal body, which are connected to a gallery with a glass roof. Near the main entrance there are four columns with statues of famous Polish philosophers of the twentieth century : Casimir Twardowski, Jan Lukasiewicz, Alfred Tarski and Stanislaw Lesniewski. Interesting attraction Library - roof garden of the main building area of about one hectare. This is one of the largest and most beautiful roof gardens in Europe. The garden is open to the general public. It consists of two parts : the top and bottom connected by jet water cascades. In the lower garden is two main attractions - a pond with fish and artificial stone with a small fountain, connected with each other stream. From the viewing terrace and garden bridges installed here have stunning views of the city, bridge and Sventokshizhsky Vistula. Another of the attractions of Warsaw University Library, which is certainly worth a visit, is the Polish poster gallery. Here is the original post-war posters, some of which are very rare and valuable. The collection includes about seven thousand names, some of which are proprietary, theater, political posters, as well as posters on the occasion of various events. In the gallery, you can also view and buy posters of famous Polish graphic artists.